Department's Administrative Structure


1. At Minister Level


Tribal welfare Department is one of the largest and most important departments of Government of Madhya Pradesh. The Department is working since 1962. In the context of development of scheduled tribes the development of the State is measured by the progress of tribal. Therefore, in the view of importance of development of tribal, a separate cabinet level minister, who belongs to a scheduled tribe category, is appointed for the Tribal welfare Department. A State Minister is also appointed to assist the Cabinet Minister.


2. Madhya Pradesh Tribal advisory council


Under Article 244 (1) of Indian Constitution, Madhya Pradesh Tribal Advisory Council has been constituted for administration and control of scheduled areas of the State, and to give necessary suggestions to state government for the interest of these classes. The chief Minister is its President and Tribal Welfare Minister is vice President. Remaining members are nominated by the State Government from scheduled tribes MLAs and social workers.


3. State Level

In the Department, Principal Secretary, Secretary, Additional Secretary, Deputy Secretary, and a Under Secretary are posted at the ministry level. At head of the department level, Commissioner, Tribal Development is working in the Department, who responsible for all administrative functions related to the staff of tribal and Scheduled caste welfare Department as well as for the implementation of all schemes of the Department.


4. Division Level

The Departmental structure at the Divisional Level in the State is as given below -


(A) Divisional Deputy Commissioner, Tribal Development Office

Since 2006-07, Office of the Divisional Deputy Commissioner, Tribal development has been formed at all divisions, and the responsibility of implementation, monitoring and evaluation of ongoing schemes in their division, has been assigned to these Divisional Deputy Commissioners.

(B) Regional Research Center

Research Centers are in operation at Jabalpur, Rewa and Indore in the state. These centers are functioning as divisional units of Tribal Research Institute. Drawing and disbursing powers have independently been given to Research officers posted in these centers.


5. District Level


(A) Chief Executive Officer, Jila Panchayat, Ex-officio Additional Commissioner


In the three tiers Panchayati Raj system, C.E.O. Jila Panchayat has been declared as ex-officio Additional Commissioner for carrying out development programs in tribal population dominated districts, and administrative and financial powers have also been delegated to them.

(B) District Office


At the district level, in 18 tribal dominated districts Assistant Commissioner, tribal development offices and in remaining 30 districts District organizer, Tribal welfare offices are being operated for administrative control and implementation of plans, under the Department.

1. Assistant Commissioner

Assistant Commissioners are posted at 18 district offices (Jabalpur, Mandla, Dindori, Chhindwara, Seoni, Balaghat, Sidhi, Shahdol, Anuppur, Ratlam, Jhabua, Dhar, Khandwa, Khargone, Barwani, Hoshangabad, Betul and Burhanpur) in Madhya Pradesh.

2. District Organizer

District Organizers are posted at 30 district offices (Narsinghpur, Katni, Rewa, Satna, Sagar, Damoh, Panna, Chhatarpur, Tikamgarh, Gwalior, Bhind, Morena, Datia, Shivpuri, Guna, Ashok Nagar, Sheopur Kalan, Ujjain, Mandsaur, Shajapur, Dewas, Indore, Neemuch, Bhopal, Rajgarh, Vidisha, Raisen, Sehore, Harda and Umariya) in the State.

6. Project Level


Project Administrator / Officer

In Madhya Pradesh, for budget management, supervision and monitoring of schemes operated by different departments under the Tribal sub plan and scheduled caste sub plan and to make necessary coordination between various development departments, there are 26 major projects, 5 medium projects, 30 Mada Pockets and 6 minor regions are in existence, in which Project Administrator / Officers are posted.

7. Block Level

A. Chief Executive Officer (Janpad Panchayat)

The posts of Chief Executive Officer are sanctioned in Janpad Panchayats of 89 Tribal Development Blocks in the State, these officers execute the obligations of C.E.O. Janpad Panchayat and these are in department's administrative control.

B. Block Development Officer

89 Blocks of 313 Blocks of the State are declared as Tribal Development Block in which Departmental Block Development Officers are posted. Administrative control of these Blocks is under the Department. Implementation of schemes of other development departments as well as departmental schemes is also done by these blocks, now in the three tiers Panchayati Raj System these Blocks are working under Janpad Panchayats.

C. Block Education Officer

74 Block Education Officers are posted under the Department. In Panchayati Raj System, the control and supervision of departmental schools running within the operational area of the Block is carried out by these Blocks, under Janpad Panchayats.


8. Specific Backward Tribal Groups Agencies (Abhikaran)

Three specific backward tribes Baiga, Bhariya and Sahariya recognized by the Government of India are inhabited in Madhya Pradesh, there are 11 agencies are functioning for making plans and their implementation for the development of these tribes in the State. The working area of these Sahariya and Baiga specific backward tribes development agencies is not only in more than in one district but also it is spread in more than on revenue divisions. Details of working Agency headquarters and their area of operations are given below:-



Operational Area

Sahariya Development Agency

 Shyopur Kalan

Sheopur Kalan / Morena / Bhind Districts


Shivpuri District


Guna District


Gwalior / Datia Districts

Note:- In Morena, Bhind and Datia districts Cell is formed in office of District Organizer.
2.Baiga Development Agency:-




Mandla District




Shahdol District




Balaghat District




Umariya District




Dindori District




Anuppur District

3.Bhariya Development Agency:-